What is your aim?
To develop and improve my language teaching skill. The skills I will focus on are:
• how to recognize Chinese character
• how to write Chinese character
• how to text in Chinese

How is it related to your current study?
As a language teacher, I’m always passion about teaching Chinese. Although at the first place I planned to teach PinYin as it is what I’m quite familiar with, my student asked to have character lesson. This is a challenge for me since I haven’t done any character lesson before. But on my second thought, it is also a good opportunity to start this project while I’m in Uni so I can gain my experience. I am studying language teaching as my minor right now and I’m going to apply the relevant teaching theories into my lesson, eg: the lexical theory.

What web-based resources you will use?
The Web-based resources I will use will include:
• YouTube for research and uploading video clip.
• WordPress to document and record my progress on e-Portfolios.

What will be shown as your reflection?
I will post:
– The pictures of my props
– The links of the video I found on YouTube
– The video of my lesson
– The pictures of my student’s work
– My weekly reflection

Weekly Plan
Week 5 – Research and Prepare
Using YouTube to find videos about Chinese pictograms
Finding iPad apps for teaching aids
Asking student to write down the words he already know to set up a 7-weeks lesson plan (10 new vocabularies each lesson)
Preparing writing tools for calligraph
Reflect on the difficulties and problems

Week 6 – 1st Lesson
Conduct Lesson 1
– Play YouTube clip to present history of pictograms
– Introduce the principle of Chinese writing
– Teach 10 new words + 2 words student are interested to learn
– Practice by iPad app
– Introduce Chinese calligraph
Homework
Reflect on the lesson and student’s reaction

Week 7 – 2nd Lesson
Re-cap
– Dictate words of lesson 1
Conduct Lesson 2
– Teach 10 new words + 2 words student are interested to learn
– Practice by iPad app
– Practice Chinese calligraph if student are interested
Homework
Reflect on the lesson and student’s reaction

Week 8 – 3rd Lesson
Re-cap
– Dictate words of lesson 1 and 2
Conduct Lesson 3
– Teach 10 new words + 2 words student are interested to learn
– Practice by iPad app
– Practice Chinese calligraph if student are interested
Homework
Reflect on the lesson and student’s reaction

Week 9 – 4th Lesson (Test)
Test
– Dictate words of lesson 1-3
– Read short sentences from Chinese Writing App
Question Time (student’s feedback)
– Which words are most difficult for you to learn?
– Any suggestion about the lesson

Reflect on the lesson and modify the lesson plan

Week 10 – 5th Lesson
Conduct Lesson 4
– Teach 10 new words + 2 words student are interested to learn
– Introduce simple sentence
– Practice by iPad app
– Practice Chinese calligraph if student are interested
Homework
– Encourage student to text in Chinese, using the words he learned
Reflect on the lesson and student’s reaction

Week 11 – 6th Lesson
Conduct Lesson 5
– Teach 10 new words + 2 words student are interested to learn
– Make simple sentence by the words student learned before
– Practice by iPad app
– Practice Chinese calligraph if student are interested
Homework
Reflect on the lesson and student’s reaction

Week 12 – 7th Lesson
Conduct Lesson 6
– Teach 10 new words + 2 words student are interested to learn
– Practice by iPad app
Final test
– Ask student to make short sentences by all the words learned before

Reflect on the lesson and student’s reaction

Week 13
Submit results of the final test and all the reflect posts.

Criteria
• Student understand the structure of Chinese character
• Student manage to write Chinese words properly
• Student remember all the words by the end of the lesson
• Student manage to write short sentences
• Student manage to text words and simple sentences by the end of the lesson

