WP_20140420_17_01_34_ProThe first thing I want to reflect is the way how to present my project. At the very beginning I thought it will be cool if I can record my whole lesson and then upload on the WordPress, but this idea was rejected by my students as he didn’t want to show his face in my project. My second thougnt was to make an audio clip, and again I realized it will be very time-cousutming in terms of editing because I have to combined pictures with audios. Therefore, I decided to present my project as a form of teachers’ notes. I prepared the note before class. During the class, I made an audio record and modified the notes after the lession was conducted, eg: I will change the assumed answer to the real answer by my student. All the writing exercises are showned as picutres. And I believe this is a better way to showcase this project.

The lession wass easier than I expected. Since the student has learned Chinese before, he got the basice ideas of Chinese character. When I talked about how characters transformed from pictures, it seemed no difficulties for him to accecpt the idea. He shown big interest when he was watching at the video. He recalled almost all the characters when he was asked to answer the question sheet. Although he didn’t learn “fire”, which is a part of the word “to burn”, he still manage to write down the word. The word “jungle” was the only word he wrote upside down. However, I think the video plays an important role for him to get engaged. I think I can use the rest of the clips in my next lessons as well because they are interesting.

So far, the problem for his writing part is he’s not used to write a word in a box and he need to structure the word in balance. It seems hard for him to manage these brick words in a line without the grid sheet. So, I think it’s good for him to keep practicing in these sheet.

The brush pen I prepared was good to be used. When he used it, the handwriting seems like caligraphy, which makes him feel he’s really writing Chinese characters. I’m going to use these pens in the future as well.

I found the ESA approach (engage, study and activate) was very effective (Harmer 2007), which can keep the student’s attention and arouse his interesting all the time. I’m going to use this in the  following lesson as well.

For Next Time:

  • The student didn’t take any notes when he was watching the video clip. This can be either 1, the characters are too easier for him or 2, he’s really good at photographic memory. So, I’ll choose some harder characters next time and more new characters.
  • The grid sheet is very good for a beginner, I need prepare more next time.

Reference

Choumeizai. (2014, April 3). The Story of Chinese Character: mu. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wUEV03xbePM

Harmer, J. (2007). The Practice of English Language Teaching. Harlow, England: Longman.

 

