WP_20140530_15_00_15_ProTo be honest, I didn’t expect this “chatting lesson” would be so attractive to my student. During the whole lesson, he shown complete attention to the activities. Besides, he also discovered his strength and weakness.

There are several things I’d like to reflect on:

1. Google doc is good for sharing however it is troublesome whenever a user need to type in different color. This is especially not convenient for i want to create a conversation-like format. I check the Yahoo messenger after my student mentioned. And it is true that the size of the chat box actually is adjustable. Next time, I will have it a try.

2. Although the rules of no-talking-only-typing are set before I start class, the student still likely ask questions as soon as he come across the new words. This is like a natural reaction. To avoid this situation, I think next time we can sit in different rooms to complete the no-talking session. To encourage the student asking questions by typing is also benefit for him.

3. It is a big surprise for me to know that my student actually knows so many words. He looks more confident in session 2 when we can actually talking while typing. When he hears my sentences, he understands what I’m talking about immediately. This means his vocabularies are largely built by listening. With on doubt his listening skill is better than reading, which is very common for a second language learner. He has some pronounce problem and the most interesting thing, for me, is that he creates his own words. And this won’t be revealed if we are doing one-by-one words lesson.

4. I think if I could find out his ability earlier and apply this lesson at the beginning, the lesson would be more meaningful and attractive for him. I shouldn’t underestimate him. For next student, I can use this method at the first lesson to test the student’s level.